Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 10.22.12 PM.png

In which I talk about Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

Why did I bother with TOG notes? *facepalm— silly me!

That is an actual note in my book. And it’s true. Why did I bother to try? Because I had to. Let me break this down for you: 

Chapter 1: Okay, not much to analyze in 6 pages. But we did get a feeling for Celaena and met Chaol. – Skipping ahead slightly, I think I’m going to like her (sassy) *and boy was I right!

Chapter 2: Lol- there’s a lot of exclamation marks. I think we’d get along, Maas and I

Chapter 3: So many! Haha. Basically myself –Welp, that lasted— bye notes.

Chapter 5: Also I like how Maas writes this one WAY better. *compared to ACOTAR which was my first Maas book- but more on that some other day.

And that’s when I stopped making notes and just read. I read for me, for pleasure, to lose myself in every detail of this world— and I LOVED it!

So how on earth can I write a review without being just a tad biased? I can’t. I can tell you why this book means what it does to me and why I bought it years ago when it came out and it sat on my shelf for this long.

Circa 2012 when Camille was still finding her reading legs and had only read The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games, she didn’t know about YA growing up— in fact, she hated reading as a child and didn’t think there would ever be a book (let alone a genre) that she would love, so she bought a copy of this book with a neat cover and placed it on her shelf.

Then she forgot about it.

Flash-forward a year to college where she sees an article in her school’s newspaper talking about the sequel to that book and how the author had moved from online fanfiction to publication. (It was an inspirational article for the want-to-be writer). Camille returns home for whichever break it was and pulls out the book. She reads the first chapter and says MEH, what’s the hype? She returns the book to her shelf and returns to college.

2016, Camille is in full swing of reading and bookstagramming and everyone says YOU MUST READ A Court of Thorns and Roses! So she does. And she hat… but I didn’t hate it though. I just didn’t really care for it and I really don’t like romance! So I gave it 3 stars because there were moments I could see a glimmer of hope for this series.

January 2017: Camille says she will conquer all the series she has sitting on her shelf this year eyeing Falling Kingdom, A Darker Shade of Magic, A Torch Against the Night, Gemina (and many, many others) before resting her eyes on Throne of Glass. A sigh of despise exits her mouth, she hates hyped books and wasn’t thrilled with ACOTAR. This one can’t be worth it, she whispers. But— she decides to close her eyes to the hype, to the noise that has built around this series, and read it for herself. It was her current read along with Carve the Mark and Caraval. While Caraval was a world she will always want to return to, and Carve the Mark was forgettable at best, Throne of Glass was like sticking her finger in the power outlet!

Why? What took so long? What was different this time?

Exactly.

Time was different. I’d matured as a person, I’d learned to say no to the things that didn’t make me happy, I’d learned to love with abandon when there was a book that spoke to me regardless of anything. In short, at 22 in 2012 I wasn’t in the right headspace to read Throne of Glass, I would have hated it! I had no idea what I was doing or who I wanted to be (late bloomer here, and still am- like what is adult life?!) and I would have thrown that book as far away from me as possible and never picked it back up.

I’m glad I didn’t. I’m glad I knew to put it back and return some other day. I’m glad I waited. What does this book mean to me now? That I am strong in my weaknesses. That I can survive. That I am invincible. (Okay that last one might not be entirely true, but I needed to hear that today) But all of that is on a personal level.

On a craft level, reading Throne of Glass gave me something to smile about. That a good 3rd person fantasy is possible. That exclamation points are characteristic to each person (Sarah, you made me smile on every page because of those exclamation points. Because I overuse them too!). That YA is more than an age range (Hello! A character is 22 in this book, so don’t tell me YA can ONLY have protagonist who are under 18!)

Mostly, Throne of Glass taught me to rise and rise again. When the world shuts you down, get up. When life throws you a hard left fist, take the blow, throw your shoulders back and laugh! When you think you are no one, you are someone.

I didn’t mean for this post (I CANNOT call this a review, lol) to be so long, but I needed to work through this. I’m still finding where I fit in, who I am at 26 (almost 27) and writing this is reminding myself that I have nothing to be ashamed of if I love with abandon. * Quick side note. Meira from Snow Like Ashes taught me that past thing too, that I’m worthy just being me and I highly recommended that series.

There you have it. This is what reading a book and connecting to it looks like in all of its flawed and messy state. This is why I read. I’m looking for the next read that does this to me, messes me up so I have to sit on it for 2 months before I can finally sift through the emotions and come to terms with it.

Thanks for reading. And I hope you find a book that does this to you if you haven’t already. And if you need to talk, I’m always available here, and on social media (@cbsmaby)

XOXO, Camille

Picture from Pinterest ( where it is VERY hard to avoid spoilers).

