I decided to make 2017 a year of facing fears for me. Every year at New Years I make a goal list, or a bucket list if you want to call it that, for the year. However old I’m turning, that’s how many goals/resolutions/silly prompts, I give myself. This year I’m turning 27, and I wanted to mix things up a bit by really thinking about what I want to accomplish (there are some MAJOR goals on this list let me just tell ya, but I’ve already accomplished some of them). One of my biggest fears since basically forever has been hearing my own voice, aka public speaking or generally conversing with people, and I want to change that. So how do you conquer a fear that has latched itself into your soul, bringing with it self-doubt, panic, and complete terror? By facing it with something you love. Hence, I started a Booktube. I love books! I love writing! I love this community! But I’m always too sacred to speak out, to scared about being accepted that I never say a word, or if I do, I then run into the corner and burrow under the pillows with a book. This is super personal to me, and whether people like my channel or my blog or whatever, I think I’m finally in the space to say that’s their opinions, and this is my redheaded opinion. So here’s the link if you want to check out my Booktube. It’s not perfect, I can’t figure out how to put music in the background and it cut off my first couple of words, but it’s up and I’m proud of facing this fear.

What about you? How do you face fears?

fullsizerender-copy-2
Hint to what 2017 goal means the most to me.

 

